top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFirestineFam 5

Chapter 63: Labor Day

¼ of my first book is done. It's about the last 5 years of my life and the people I met during that time. I feel like the 5 years living in Ohio really changed me. In both good and bad ways. I did a lot of growing and I learned a lot about the real world. I learned about adult relationships, complicated messy relationships. I learned about myself. I grew in my marriage, as a mom, as a friend. I think back on those years fondly and with everlasting memories…up to a point. You will have to read the book to find out all the fun, juicy, messy details. 

The following is an excerpt from my book that is in editing phases.

*Disclaimer: Names have been changed to protect identities* 


Sunday, September 2, 2018


It was a normal Sunday on Morning Star Dr. Well except it wasn’t. It was a special Sunday. It was Labor Day Weekend and our neighbors, The Dashley's, had a brand, spanking new pool. Let me preface this by saying that if there was one thing we were good at doing on MS, (Morning Star) it was drinking. It was a regular night occurrence that the adults partook in while the kids played. It was typical and easy to get your drink of choice and meet in someones’ driveway for “driveway beers.” Usually everyone behaved themselves and knew their limits, but sometimes one or more of us would be buzzed (or more) and we had a good time. 


This particular Sunday was different. People drank a lot who usually didn’t drink at all, there was a pool, a holiday weekend, a lot of alcohol and many bad decisions. I can't recall when Chad mentioned skinny dipping in his pool. Everyone present was very excited to do something so fun and risky! Plus, we had been friends for years, our spouses were present (well SOME of ours were), it was just some harmless fun. Or so we thought.


I don't know when things changed, but we ended up with half of us naked, half of us partially dressed, in the neighbors new pool at about 11pm on a Sunday night. I remember wearing my bra and capris because I was nursing Jade and well you know. It was fun and innocent until Chad took my hand and put it on his (flaccid, hairy) penis. Hold up! That wasn't supposed to happen. I quickly loudly announced what had occured. Kathy said the same thing happened to her. Chads' wife was inside with their 3 small children. Sleeping. Innocently. I felt icky. I wasnt ok with this. Things got weird. Chad was now trying to take off guys bottoms. When that was also not appreciated, he moved on to a more willing participant. The night ended with Chad and Jessica (who is married to Rob and not there)  having sex in the pool. The 2 couples, Kathy and The Mayor, along with Dave and I, peaced out real quick. We were uncomfortable with the fact that our buddy Chad isn't who we thought he was, and that the 4 of us had a deep secret we now had to keep from not only Debbie and Rob, but also from the rest of the neighborhood.


Over the next 4 years, Debbie and I became best friends. We grew very close and I struggled internally knowing what I knew all the time. I voiced my concerns many times to Dave, Kathy, and The Mayor. They always told me to keep quiet, don't stir the pot, we have to live here and see these people daily. But it was wrong. I knew it was. I figured it would either come out someday, or it wouldn't. But I never expected it would end up my fault. 


Fast forward to August 2022. Our family had relocated and moved out of the neighborhood. Moving away seemed to cause some of the neighbors to have trust issues and worry we would no longer have nothing to lose or a reason to keep secrets and they let us know that, harshly. 


This was one of the biggest, hardest lessons to learn, and one I am still learning. I was so involved in my neighborhood and village and I still can't believe that those are the people I surrounded myself with, and loved, and considered family, for 5 years. 


*end excerpt*


In the end, I was outcast, and to my knowledge, they're all friends. I am the liar. I am crazy. I threw a temper tantrum. This is to clear my name, in MY own book. The ONLY thing I am guilty of is knowing something I wish I didnt and not telling the person I loved dearly. This book revolves around the people of MS. You will grow to know and love (or hate) them. There is much, much more to this story. One I am still writing and one that you will be VERY intrigued to hear.


Just remember, "a wolf in sheep's clothing is still a wolf 🐺 " 

183 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page