top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFirestineFam 5

Oregon Trip 2022

Many of you already know, but for those who don’t, we are moving from Ohio to Oregon on July 2nd. Dave has been applying for jobs for years, near and far, hoping to get something that values him and his work and pays him what he deserves. While we have always wanted to explore outside of Ohio, we hoped to stay closer to family and friends. Apparently the universe had other plans and an amazing job offer with an awesome company came in. So after much discussion, many many tears and panic attacks on my part, we made the decision to move our family of 5 plus 2 dogs to Oregon. Only like 2,000 miles away. 2,566.7 miles to be exact. I had two very important stipulations. 1) We visit home when I am losing my shit and 2) I first see the place I am uprooting my life and childrens’ lives moving 2,566.7 miles away to before making the FINAL final decision. And so Dave had me booked on a plane 2 days later. I love him.




I haven’t flown in 6 years and while I am a much more relaxed and easy-going traveler than I used to be, I didn’t miss it. Dave dropped me off at the Cleveland Airport Tuesday morning bright and early at 5am to catch my first plane to San Fran. The A/C didn’t work on the plane and it was hot and muggy and I was on the inside seat and feeling very trapped and claustrophobic. I almost had a panic attack but didn’t and made it to San Fran. I grabbed some food before my connecting flight to Eugene, Oregon. There are two airports near Coos Bay (where Dave will be working). North Bend has a smaller airport that sometimes has good deals depending on the time of year and is close to our home we will be renting in North Bend. Eugene is a bigger city and the main airport in the area but is 2 hours away. HOWEVER, you drive down the 101 into the Bay Area and you will not care about the 2 hour drive. Pacific Coast Highway is one of the most beautiful roads in the world. (Tip from yours truly- download a Spotify playlist for the 101 and play it while cruising and enjoying the views.) There are many pull off points to get out and enjoy the views. The plane I got on to head to Eugene was a 12 passenger plane that I had to walk on the tarmac to board. I did not enjoy that plane.


Once I landed, I found my bags and got my rental car. I called Dave grouchy and irritated because I was tired, hot, hungry and couldn’t find my phone mount I packed or how to connect my Bluetooth in the car. He calmed me down and reminded me I was on vacation and to grab a Coke Zero and put on one of my current obsessions, Morbid the podcast and enjoy the drive. I got all my shit together and hit the road. I was feeling better and was in Coos Bay in no time. I checked into my hotel in North Bend and decided to hit the local (and only) Walmart to stock my room. I spent a few hours driving around to the area and then grabbed dinner and settled into my room. I made a list of everything I needed to get done and the houses I wanted to look at and started calling. (We knew we wanted to rent until we know the area and have more time to find the house we want). My job, was to find us a place to live. The 3 hour time difference was really strange and after traveling all day, I passed out early.


It was a glorious night in a king bed alone and I woke up and got ready for the day. I grabbed some breakfast in the hotel lobby which wasn’t good and I pitched and headed out for my first appointments of the day. Today I was going to check out Bandon. Dave explored a lot of Bandon when he was here and really liked it and thought I would too. Bandon is a coastal beach town. It is about 30 min from North Bend. Driving in, I was greeted by a cute seaside sign “Welcome to Bandon- by -the Sea.” Adorable. I immediately got the feel of being in a hip beach city. The boardwalk had people milling about, there were some small stores, coffee shops, restaurants, etc. It was very cute. I like Bandon. We could live here! I looked at 3 houses total in Bandon and got a good feel for the area from the landlords and locals I talked to when I grabbed sushi and enjoyed it for lunch at Flat Rock beach. What I gathered was that Bandon is an up and coming beach town hoping to become something like Carmel-by-the-Sea in California. That is a VERY popular spot for tourists to visit. I can definitely see Bandon going that direction in the next few years. That is great that we will be so close to such a fun place to visit and take family and friends who visit us! However, after talking to Dave, we don’t want to live there in that case. (although I am mentally making a note to buy an airbnb there asap). Brandon's weather is also very very windy, chilly, and rainy. I explored Bandon the rest of the day and visited Face Rock Beach. I wanted to see some marine life and so I began searching for the best places to see sea lions and sea otters and found Apargo Cape State Park. It was about 30 min away but promised sea lions and harbor seals galore! I jumped in the car and made it shortly before sunset. I could hear the distinct sound of sea lions barking and I followed the sound down a path to one of the most beautiful views I have ever seen in my life and a giant rock island covered in barking sea lions and seals. I spent the next hour or so there until I got too cold and left. In my google search for a place to see sea otters in Oregon, I sadly discovered that all the sea otters were relocated elsewhere because of the fur trade in Oregon. HOW SAD!! They did say the government is thinking of bringing them back as protected animals. I PRAY!









The next morning, Thursday, we had pretty much decided that we wanted to be in North Bend and so that’s where I was looking. I had a list of houses, not many that fit our criteria to be honest. We need at least 3 bedrooms and we have 2 dogs and we don’t exactly have a lot of time to work with. I saw one I loved and Dave agreed. I immediately drove straight from the house to the management office to sign the lease and sadly found out someone else had been approved before us. I was really really bummed and also worrying about time running out before I had to fly home. Luckily, an even better house became available that very morning and I went to look at it. It was perfect and in the area we wanted and so that’s where we will be until we find our dream home. I spent the rest of the time checking out the schools, local shops and places near the house, and just enjoyed the scenery. I had been seeing signs for Captain’s Choice Fish House clam chowder since I arrived and I knew that that was what I was eating for dinner. I ordered and picked it up to go. On the phone I somehow ended up explaining that I was in a hotel and I ordered a huge piece of chocolate cake for myself. She laughed and we agreed that life is too short to not eat the cake. When I went inside, it was a typical, cute seafood restaurant. I recognized the girl at the counter as the one from the phone immediately. She gave me a warm smile and greeted me. My first impression was that she was really cool. Like way too cool to be my friend. She is probably in her early to mid 20s, blonde beachy curls, tattoos, a few piercings, just looked like a beach hipster. We ended up talking about me moving to the area and it turns out she grew up in North Bend and had gone to the charter school I was considering sending the kids to. Soon, a coworker of hers joined us who was a little older than me and we talked for 40 minutes before exchanging phone numbers. SO, now I have TWO new friends in North Bend already AND I found literally the best clam chowder I have ever had. SCORE!







I pigged out on cake and drank wine while binging Outlander in my hotel room until way too late because I was in denial I would be going home tomorrow…or so I thought…


Friday morning hit different. I was groggy because the sleep before did not come peacefully. I also may or may not have had a hangover from the night before. I blame the cake and wine before bed. I didn’t have a ton of time before I had to be on the road to the airport. 2 hour drive there, get gas, turn in my rental car, security…add in the fact I am always late and well, the day really was against me from the start. I skipped the breakfast I knew I didn’t like and thought I would grab something on the way to the airport. I was too absorbed in the scenery and belting out tunes as loudly as possible that I realized I did not get breakfast. Well I will just grab something in the airport I thought. No big deal. I get to the airport and go through security. Except oops, I forgot to check my bag! Yea, I forgot to check my giant ass suitcase and took it all the way to the metal detector before someone told me. So, back to check my bag and through security again. Oh, I’m late now! (See how easily that happens). I make it to my gate and get on and yep, didn’t eat. Well, I will just get food in Denver for my layover. I had 43 minutes but if I hauled ass, I should be able to make it. Everything is going smoothly, I sat in the window, but the air worked this time so yay! I was sitting next to an adorable little boy named Lincoln who was with his mom. He was 1.5 years old and an angel. Even through the hell that was to follow. We began to experience pretty bad turbulence. At one point the plane literally felt like it dropped a significant amount and everyone gasped and screamed in unison. It was about then that the pilot came on to say Denver airport was closed and we would need to circle due to the bad storms. We circled twice and needed to refuel. To Colorado Springs we went! We sat on the tarmac there for an hour and this little boy was so good. Bless his moms’ heart, she was so stressed. I was irritated about the whole situation but kept thinking if the toddler can keep his shit together, you can do it, Jacque. We finally took off and landed in Denver 1.5 hours AFTER my connecting flight took off. It was now 7pm and I still had not eaten except for pretzels on the plane. In hindsight, I should have grabbed food before standing in line, but I had no idea what was in store for me. Now, I was sweaty from hauling ass all over the Denver airport to find United customer service. There were 2 trams involved. I was tired, I was starving, I was very very irritated at this point. I wanted to get on another flight asap and get the eff home. The mom from the plane with the little boy ended up 2 people behind me in the customer service line. We proceeded to stand in that line for THREE HOURS!!! This child was good the entire time. Bless his little heart. By the time it was my turn, I wasn’t irritated, I was LIVID!!!! I knew it was nobody's fault. It was the weather and the customer service reps were trying to help, so I was smiling, but inside I was cursing more than I ever have. The last flight to Cleveland had (surprise!) just left and so I was booked on the next available flight, the next morning at 11am.


I left the line, called Dave, got McDonalds and literally inhaled it on my way to the parking lot while looking for a hotel on my phone. I found the cheapest nearby, booked it and set up an uber. It was now 10pm. While I was glad to extend my vacation another day, THAT is not how I wanted it to be spent. On my flight home Saturday, our plane experienced a technical issue as we were about to touch down and we quickly had to go back up and try again. So reassuring!!!

I want to remain on the ground for a while, thank you!


If you’re still here, thanks for reading. Come visit us in North Bend, Oregon! We officially leave July 2nd. Whew.


Love and Light,





Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page